A day in the woods

Playtesting is one of the best parts of modding. I don’t know how many hours I’ve spent running around my own Frontier Realm hunting out floaters and all those minor errors. I still will have missed many, so that’s why more pairs of eyes are needed to root them out and why I want to release the continent as a beta when I’m done landscaping.

I really wish I’d have more impressive stuff than this to show you for this blog update; like impressive interiors or the next big castle or some hot armour, but I don’t. The absolute most part of my modding Frontier is spent doing really tedious stuff like pasting trees, rocks and bushes. I want to make the Frontier forests look endless and monotonous without becoming boring. There will be surpirses here and there and locations to find that are unmarked on the map. In today’s playtesting my latest modded patch of forest, I actually got lost in there! And that’s a good sign!

Yes! I got lost and had to find my way out. It took some running, but soon I happened upon this location. The first sign of civilization, Stroti’s Old Cabin. Really, this is how I want the mod to be in the end. When you finally get back to civilization after excursions into the barbarian north, you’re supposed to draw a sigh of relief. Imagine these forests filled with game, barbarians sneaking around as well as predators.

Stupid dog.

14 responses to “A day in the woods

    • I think it’s possible to get rid of the 3D in-game map too, which looks more like a satellite navigation system than a fantasy literature type map, and replace it with my own “paper” map. It would be really awesome to get rid of all map markers, arrows and other unnatural ways of navigation and just present the player with a rather sketchy, unclear map of the unexplored wilderness. It would make getting lost a certainty! I have to explore the possibility more.

  1. I am living in a forest region too, a national park with beech forest in its natural state – without those high mountains but mountainous too. Just now the trees are beginning to change colour and the autumn gold appears.
    I’d love to wander in these Frontier woods.
    *packs rucksack and walks on to get lost in the wilderness*

      • Well you have all the history. Me and my wife spent one Christmas in Rome and it was the best Christmas ever. We saw Emperor Augustus and the Pope. Snow is vastly overrated anyway. It’s fun for the first two days, then it becomes an irritation. 😀

Leave a Reply

