Alpha 01 Release

This is an Alpha release of Frontier for Skyrim. There is unfinished business all over the mod. LOD is of questionable quality in places. The landscape is largely done; interiors are in place, of which most are decorated too. There are large areas of unfinished land at the outer areas of The Frontier. There are NO NPC’s, NO QUESTS. Some resources have been added already; like new buildings, some new armour, some new weapons, books and so on. There is a lot more to come!

Install manually. If you don’t know how to do that, don’t download the Alpha, but wait for the finished version. Cleaned with Tes5Edit.

The Alphas and Betas of Frontier are only uploaded to ModDB. The final version will also be featured at the Nexus. Do NOT upload this WIP to any other site. Thank you.

To get into the Frontier, open the console and write “cow Frontier -19,-17”

DOWNLOAD

25 responses to “Alpha 01 Release

  1. Yeah! Downloading now (it is awful slow, will take me about an hour).
    The notification came just in time – before I plugged off my computer for an inspection. 😀

    • Excellent. Hope you enjoy the tour of the Frontier. 🙂 Oh, and if you find any obvious errors, like missing textures or so, do tell me so I can hotfix. I’m really bad at packing stuff down, so I hope I’ve not forgotten anything, although I’ve tried to be efficient about it.

      By the way, Tamira. I think yours is the VERY FIRST download! Isn’t that suitable, considering what we did back in the day with Dibella’s Watch? 🙂

      • I am looking forward to this!

        I already spent a good time in Frontier and I am overwhelmed!
        Would you mind, if I write my feedback again on TESA like I did during the DW times?

        Only error I found so far is the missing texture of the dircinium helmet, check the texture path in Nifskope, it is wrong.

        Now back to explore Frontier, I took already several screenshots. 🙂

      • Wow! Only the helmet! i was expecting like purple mountains and big bugs like that. Yes, I’ll log into TesAlliance again. I haven’t been there for a while, because I had too many forums for too many games to follow at one point and needed to prioritize. I’ve missed it though.

  2. Finally it’s here! I am so exited! I have been following your work on this mod for ages and i think its probably the one mod i have been most anticipating. Thank you so much for getting an alpha out for us to test – i am about to go instal it now.

  3. Okay, i have to say, i knew from the moment i set foot in the Frontier that this was going to be an incredible mod, but I was wrong – this has to be the BEST mod for Skyrim ever. Ever. I cannot put into words how fantastic this is, except to say very, very well done antiscamp! – it looks better than the the original! Anyway, keep up the unbelievable work and thank you again – you just made my day, well probably month… or more. 🙂

    • Thanks! Well, your comment made my evening. Although as a modder, I always try to keep that cool stance of “I don’t care what they think about it, as long as I think it’s great”, I actually DO CARE what the people playing it think about it, and IT IS very important to me that I create something that’s appreciated out there as well as it is over here in my sofa 😀 This is only the beginning of Frontier. What you see in the Alpha is the foundation of it. This is going to be a long, exciting adventure still!

      • Well I can’t tell you how much I’m looking forward to it! The more i explore the more i am impressed by the scale of what you have created. And just to put in perspective of how much i was looking forward to your release of Frontier; when you announced you might get an alpha out this weekend i was literally refreshing your blog page Every time i sat down at the computer 🙂

      • Oh, I know how that feels. I do the same with the Distant Worlds forum right now, because they’ve promised an expansion to the game in Q1. That’s also why I really did my best to pump it out as soon as possible. I am really glad you’re enjoying it. I will be publishing a patch to take care of some of the minor problems soon, and then I’ll start working on the NPC’s. I am really looking forward to that. I love creating NPC’s. 🙂

  4. Just downloaded the Alpha. Will this work on a modded Skyrim with all three DLC’s on it? I so want to try it but do not want to mess up my game. If I install then uninstall manually, say just the esm file, will the Frontier textures have a negative impact on my game?

    • Yes, this will work alongside all the DLC just fine. I have them all three myself, and I’ve had no problems. The textures won’t cause any problems either. All textures I add to Frontier are carefully placed in their own folders and only used by this mod. Even the resource mod textures are moved into the Frontier folders, so if you have a mod which I’m using as a resource, even those textures willb e untouched my Frontier.

  5. WOW WOW WOW. Ive only spent 10 minutes riding around the surroundings of Anvil Nova and WOW WOW WOW. Congratulations on one hell of a mod! Ive encountered one glitch though. I am getting purple textures for the Dircinium Helmet in the market place by the Talos Statue in Anvil Nova. Dnt know if its my issue or the mods. Will look forward to explore more and more. Many thanks antiscamp

    • Hey, thanks! Yep, the Dircinium helmet is going to be updated in an upcoming patch. It’s my own fault; I’ve messed up the linking between the mesh and the texture. Otherwise, I’m really happy that there have been no big problems, like missing mountain texture, or so. Glad you enjoy it! 😀

  6. Hi antiscamp, i just thought i should post a couple of minor glitches i have come across. I also took some screenshots if you want them emailed. Anyway the first is some shadow striping in The Feisty Miner. Second, some of the walls in the nearby castle ( sorry i don’t remember the name) seem to be floating; i.e. i can see under them. Last is a strange LOD issue with Anvil Nova; a wall that can be seen from a distance but disappears when i move closer.

    And that’s it. Overall i would say the Frontier is very stable for an alpha – I’ve had no crashes, framerate bugs or, well anything. So far it seems less buggy than Skyrim 😀 Even load screens are quicker. Anyway loving the mod and sooo looking forward to the NPCs 😀

    • Ah! I hate shadow striping, so do report all cases of those. I’ll fix them by the next major update. The LOD is bad at some points; I don’t know what happened at the Anvil Nova Cathedral, it was fine one day, and the next, it went like that. At one point I had a floating church tower above thecity too, but I was able to remove that. I don’t know how to fix it yet. If you want, you can E-Mail the pictures at gfrilund777@gmail.com, or upload them to an image host like photobucket and give me the link. Frontier is quick right now, the loading screens are pretty much just flying by, but that’s because there is no NavMesh, scripts running or NPC’s yet, which I will be starting on next. 🙂

  7. antiscamp can you please help ne, i seem to be the only one with this problem, i posted it on your moddb frontier page too, im so excited about trying it out but when i type “cow frontier -19 -17” the screen just goes black and the game freezes forever, with my level progress in the top right corner, it doesnt seem to want to load frontier, i am so excited to explore this place, what must be wrong? what prerequisites are needed to run the mod? im currently using SKSE 1.6.9 and a bunch of custom mods, including ENB, idk what the problem is please help me! thanks!

  8. I fixed the problem, turns out i had my skyrim on not to auto update through steam incase it messed my game up, and it appears that since i wasn’t running the latest patch, thats why it gave me that blank screen, i updated to 1.9.36 skyrim version and it works like a charm! love the mod btw!

Leave a Reply

