Lost with Attila in Total War

OK. This post is going to be covering a new game I’m playing and explaining my absence again from modding.

Those of you who know me, also know that I’m a big fan of the Total War series. Right now I’m completely lost in the latest instalment in the series, Attila Total War. It’s just an excellent game. I was kinda disappointed in Rome II Total War at first, when it came out in 2013, but stuck with it and played it quite a lot. Attila is the Total War that Rome II should have been from the start.

The game constantly pushes challenges and events towards its player that makes it continually exciting and intriguing. Rome II Total War didn’t manage to hold my attention like this. Also, the atmosphere is really awesome in this game. You really feel like you’re trying to lead and protect a population from the menace of Barbarian invasion, aggressive neighbours and starvation during a really turbulent and dangerous, apocalyptic, era in Human history.

Attila Total War is completely different from the previous Total Wars, and yet, it’s so similar! I get a distinct feeling with Attila of the previous great games like Rome 1 and Medieval 2, a feeling I never got with Rome 2. Attila takes inspiration mainly from those previous great titles, but also, clearly from Crusader Kings II by Paradox, which is another favourite game of mine. And that’s an excellent thing!

I did not pre-order Attila. I waited for the user reviews (I don’t trust mainstream media game reviews at all), but Attila has restored my confidence in Creative Assembly. God, I’m stuck in the game, it’s so great! So modding Azura’s Watch is on the slower side again. Just give me some time with Attila and his Huns.

2 responses to “Lost with Attila in Total War

  1. You might want to check out Caribbean on Steam. It was just released and is 15% off this first week.
    I’ve always liked Taleworlds Mount and Blade games. This time they’ve placed the setting in the golden age of piracy.

    • Yeah, I’ve been following Caribbean! for quite some time, but to be honest, I’m not too impressed with the development of it. Unfortunately, there’s been no good pirate game since Sid Meier’s Pirates! and that was in 1987 if we don’t count the follow-ups which were rather good as well.

Leave a Reply

