The Last Bit of the Hotel

2015-03-25_00001

Tonight I finished up the hotel with creating the Servants’ Quarters. It was a pretty straightforward environment to design and didn’t take too long. Here’s a picture of the hotel’s chef though. Now on to other adventures. I still need to add NPC’s to the eastern parts of the island and do some interior work at the pirate base as well as probably redesign one of the native camps. Cheers.

12 responses to “The Last Bit of the Hotel

  1. Your level designing is really breath-taking, the hotel is absolutely beautiful. I must admit I check this blog at least 3 times a week, I loved the last release and I’m looking forward to see how you develop both the pirate and slavers base. Keep up the good work.

    • Hey! Thanks! πŸ™‚ Sorry for my late reply. I’ve been playing Cities: Skylines and it’s a brilliant game. I’ll have the beta 0.4 coming up quite soon when the final bits are in place, like a few NPC’s and some interior work here and there.

    • Hey! I like the look of your project too! I remembered seeing it on the Nexus a couple of days ago and I just watched your video. It’s coming along nicely, so do keep it up! There’s nothing as rewarding as creating your own worldspace. πŸ™‚

      • Hey thank’s a bunch yeah it’s really fun, yet so hard but as you say very rewarding. If you ever need a voice actor or something, feel free to let me know I will also be upgrading my equipment, can’t wait. I check your blog almost everyday it looks amazing! πŸ™‚

      • Yeah, it’s rewarding and does take a lot of time. I started this is July. I only intended it to be a small island at first, maybe finish it in a month or two, but here I am, in April, still at it, because it grew larger and larger. πŸ™‚

      • Haha yeah I was planning to release mine before April 7th but now I also delayed it for this upcoming May or June. I always find that when I release projects like this after I just feel sort of empty, and usually have to pick up another project that’s why I’m going by chapter’s. You spend so long on a project and after you release it’s like wow that’s it, it’s like your holding a baby in your hands, you just don’t want to let it go, at least that’s how I feel like, but hey eventually got to let it go, and release it out into the world! πŸ™‚

      • I can relate to that feeling for sure! It’s actually a well-known phenomenon in artistic areas overall. Authors often speak about the fear of sending in their final drafts to the editor and so on. In a way, it’s a double-edged sword, you’ve been working for so long on something and really want to get it out to the public, and on the other hand, you fear for what will become of it when you, in a way, let go of your own complete ownership of it. There’s a tremendous excitement with the publishing process as well. And you want to get comments on and appreciation for the things you’ve done. The modding world is kinda nice in that respect. Users are often very appreciating when they see the tremendous work a modder has put in. So letting go is not all bad, although I have trouble with that part myself. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

