Mom’s Basement

I am actually creating a mod for Fallout 4 right now. I wanted to do something small just to check out the new Creation Kit. For all Elder Scrolls games, since Morrowind, I’ve done the Alcoholics Guild, which is only a little house with a couple of NPC’s in it. I’m trying to create something similar for Fallout 4, but with a spin. This time, the environment is going to be a basement with three nerds living there.

The Fallout Creation kit is really touchy though and not at all fun to work with. It’s constantly crashing; many times just randomly, making the process very frustrating and time-consuming. You need the patience of a god. If I ever finish this mod – which I doubt – it will be the first and last mod for this game just because their CK is so unbelievably unstable. Bethesda says they built the game with this crashing POS. Yeah sure.

20170308133204_1

The three nerds live in Mom’s Basement, where they’ve spent the last two centuries playing the famous pen and paper RPG Vaults and Dragons, as well as Atomic Command on their computer terminals. They’re quite oblivious as to what has happened in the world upstairs. They’ve probably survived drinking irradiated water that has been leaking from the nearby chemical plant in Malden.

I’ve created the upper house as well as the layout of the basement. Currently, I’m decorating the interior. Stay tuned for more. I can’t promise a proper Nexus release, because I don’t know how high quality this work will be (due to ill-working CK), but I’ll publish what I have on this blog later on. We’ll see where this takes us; it’s just an experiment with the new CK2.0.

20170308133850_1

Leave a Reply

